Seriously? 3 Pages Only?

(Based on a true story)

It’s 6pm, and I’ve just arrived home. I make my way up the stairs, and I see two figures arguing inside a room. The two figures were none other than my own father, and my short and cute little sister. I couldn’t make out what they were talking about, but my father was definitely not in a good mood. Their talk didn’t seem to involve me, so I proceeded to my room to begin mowing down the load of homework I had for the night. Shortly after beginning, I hear a knocking at my door. It was my little sister trying to tell me it was time to eat. I told her that I was busy, and I might not eat that night. I don’t think she liked the idea of me skipping a meal for homework, so she began to nag about how we could get in trouble if we don’t get downstairs to eat soon. I tried to explain to her how busy I was, but she kept answering back to everything I said. Soon, we began to fight and argue. Before things got too out of hand, my father stepped in to stop us, and began to scold us both. I realized my father probably wasn’t in the best mood that night, so I pretty much had to eat. As soon as dinner was over, I rushed back into my room and began working. About an hour has passed and I go out of my room to get some water. The time was about 9pm. As I opened the door of my room, I see my little sister working on something. I come closer to ask what she was doing, but she was still mad at me and gave me no response whatsoever. I sort of saw that she was working with a Math book, but I had my own fish to fry that night which made not care what she was doing. A few hours have passed, it’s 12 midnight, and I was almost done with everything. Another productive hour and I would’ve been finished with everything. I go out of my room to get more water, but to my surprise, my little sister was still working on that Math book. Children her age shouldn’t even be awake at that time. I ask her what it is she was doing that kept her up this late. It turns out my little sister had been flunking her Math class, and my father was informed about it by the teacher. This explains the scolding I saw when I got home. I asked her again what she had to do, and she told me that she had to answer 15 more pages worth of drills and problems. It didn’t seem too bad until she told me that she had only finished 3 pages only at that point. It was 12 midnight, and we had school tomorrow. I realized that at the rate she was going, she wouldn’t even finish by 4am which is the time we all wake up for school. I guess it was the tired and frustrated look on her face that made me decide to help her out instead of continuing with my work, but that’s what big brothers are there for. We began to work on the problems, and with my help, we were ableto finish at around 3am. I thought we’d finish sooner, but she was flunking Math for a reason. As soon as we finished, I told her to go to bed and get some rest. Afterwards, I went back to my room only to realize that I still had work to do. I mustered every inch of grit I had left in my body and finished at around 4am. I didn’t get a wink of sleep that night which meant I was completely drained. I don’t know how I was going to make it through the day, but I guess doing all that work would be useless if I didn’t submit it. I then got dressed and packed my stuff, and went outside my room to go downstairs to eat. I didn’t notice at first, but there was a sticky note posted on my door. It turns out it was from my naggy little sister, and it was thanks to that made me think that the sleepless night was worth it.

Thank you

Leave a Reply

